GAO, IRS officials win AU Roger Jones Award for leadership

Share Button

Last night the American University School of Public Affairs presented two government leaders with the 2017 Roger W. Jones Award for Executive Leadership. I was honored that AU invited me to be the emcee of the award presentation, and to make a few remarks about government leadership based on the interviews and interactions I’ve had with leaders on Government Matters. The first-class event at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in DC honored Pat Dalton, the Chief Operating Officer of the Government Accountability Office; and Frances Regan, Area Counsel of the Office of Chief Counsel of the Internal Revenue Service. I remarked to Mrs. Regan in the green room before the event that it was the first time I’ve ever been on stage with another Francis/Frances before! Congratulations to both of these very deserving women for the awards, and for their careers.

Photo (L-R): me; Gene Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States (nominator of Pat Dalton); Dalton; Regan; Drita Tonuzi, Deputy Chief Counsel, Internal Revenue Service (nominator of Frances Regan); Vicky Wilkins, Interim Dean, School of Public Affairs. Thanks to photographer Bill Petros for the fantastic photos of the event!